Traditional Building Portfolio

2012 Arthur Ross Awards

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA) has announced the 2012 Arthur Ross Awards for excellence in the Classical tradition. This year, honorees were named in five categories: architecture, artisanship, history/journalism, stewardship, landscape design, in addition to a Board of Directors Honor.

The 2012 jury included Kathryn Herman, chair; Donald Albrecht; William H. Bates III; Dara Caponigro; Adele Chatfield-Taylor; Robin Karson; Peter Pennoyer; R. Douglass Rice and Jean Wiart. "Lively discussion among the jurors, coming as they did from far and wide, like the Institute itself, assured a fine roster of Ross Award recipients in this important anniversary year," said Herman.

"The annual Arthur Ross Awards gathering reminds one and all of the unique value of what we do in education for students, practitioners, and appreciative public alike," said ICAA president Paul Gunther. "It's a chance too to connect with those in so many related fields who can stand on his shoulders today." The awards will be presented on May 7 at the University Club in New York City. For more information, go The 2012 winners are:

Hammond Beeby Rupert and Ainge Architects (HBRA) of Chicago was cited for its civic and residential commissions that 'demonstrate sensitivity to context, technical expertise and creative artistry.' HBRA is also a 2012 Palladio winner.

HBRA designed the new Tuscaloosa Federal Building (right) and Courthouse in Tuscaloosa, AL.
HBRA leadership: Thomas Beeby, Chairman Emeritus, (seated); principals, standing left to right; Craig Brandt, Michele Silvetti-Schmitt, Aric Lasher, Dennis Rupert, and Gary Ainge. Photos: courtesy of HBRA

Landscape Design
The ICAA cited Edwina von Gal of East Hampton, NY, "whose compelling designs tread lightly and knowingly on the land in unexpected and imaginative ways."

To preserve the feeling of the old fields of Long Island, von Gal inserted the pool and deck and then transplanted clumps of the meadow into the disturbed areas.

Francis Morrone of Brooklyn, NY, is a historian, raconteur and teacher. "He has displayed an extraordinary knowledge of New York and beyond through his books, essays, tours and lectures," the ICAA states.

Francis Morrone (right) leads tours throughout historic New York. (Photo: Elsa Solender) Morrone was the co-author, with Henry Hope Reed, of The New York Public Library. (W.W. Norton, 2011)

Board of Directors Honor
Marc Appleton, Santa Monica, CA, is an architect, author, teacher and ICAA trustee emeritus. The ICAA noted that his "visionary leadership spawned and nurtured the advent of ICAA chapters across the country, beginning in Southern California."

Marc Appleton, Appleton & Associates, Santa Monica, CA. (Photo: courtesy of Appleton & Associates) The work of Appleton & Associates is featured in this book, New Classicists (Images Publishing Group, 2008).

The U.S. Commission of Fine Arts, Washington, DC, has been a "careful guardian of the artistic, architectural and urban design in our nation's capital for more than a century."

The terra-cotta seal of the U.S. Commission of Fine Arts (top), the commission at work (bottom). Photos: Carol Clayton Photography, courtesy of the U.S. Commission of Fine Arts

The ICAA selected Rhett Butler of E.R. Butler & Co., New York, NY, noting that he is a "meticulous craftsman and exacting scientist who has set an unparalleled standard for hardware excellence in the 21st century."

Rhett Butler, E.R. Butler & Co. (Photo: Elle Muliarchyk) E.R. Butler created the hardware for the front door of the Tweed Courthouse in New York City. (Photo: Lauren Coleman)






Use this tool to search for specific individuals, architectural firms, and
feature topics.
Advertising Information | Privacy Policy

Traditional Building Period Homes Traditional Building Portfolio traditional product galleries traditional product reports
rexbilt Tradweb Traditional Building Conference Palladio Awards

Copyright 2014. Active Interest Media. All Rights Reserved.