Traditional Building Portfolio

2009 Student Drawing Awards

Built in the late 1920s, the On Leong Association was the center of cultural activity in the heart of Chicago’s Chinatown. Measured drawings by students from the Historic Preservation Department at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, working under the guidance of Charles Pipal, AIA, were awarded first place.

The 2009 Charles E. Peterson prize winners have been announced and the first place was awarded to students from the Historic Preservation Department at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Presented by the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) of the National Park Service, the Athenaeum of Philadelphia and the American Institute of Architects (AIA), the annual competition, now in its 27th year, was created to heighten the awareness and appreciation of America’s historic buildings as well as to supplement the HABS collection of measured drawings at the Library of Congress. To date, the competition has contributed over 5,300 sheets of drawings.

The competition honors Charles E. Peterson, a National Park Service landscape architect who initiated HABS – America’s first federal preservation program with the goal of documenting the nation’s architectural heritage – in 1933. Building selection varies from architect-designed structures to utilitarian and vernacular buildings that define a specific region or tradition. The copyright-free collection is made available for public use in both hard copies and electronic formats.

In addition to the recognition of the best sets of drawings prepared according to HABS standards, the winning teams are also awarded a prize totaling $9,000. Over 2,000 students have participated in the competition. The projects are judged based upon a rating system focusing on criteria such as the site or structure’s complexity, the documentation’s content, dimension and annotations, as well as the presentation of the drawing – drafting quality, sheet composition and graphic consistency.

The jury consists of three members, one representing each organization. This year, the jurors were Mark Schara, AIA, HABS architect, representing the National Park Service; Hyman Myers, FAIA, former chief restoration architect for Vitetta, representing the Athenaeum of Philadelphia; and Jonathan Spodek, AIA, associate professor of architecture at Ball State University and chair of the AIA HABS Coordinating Committee, representing the AIA.

The winning team working with Charles Pipal, AIA, includes Carol Adams, Ginny Way, Mitch Brown, Frank Butterfield, Ceylan Celebiler, Tianyi Jiang, Pam Pietrowshy, Susannah Ribstein, Kathleen Shanley, Noel Weidner and Christine Whims. Pipal also instructed three teams that won third place and two honorable mentions in the 2008 competition.

The $3,000 prize was awarded for measured drawings of the On Leong Merchants Association, located in the heart of Chinatown in Chicago, IL. During the early 1900s, Chicago’s Chinese population relied heavily on the support of their local community organizations. The On Leong Merchants Association established itself as the community’s center of cultural activity, offering classes and services for new immigrants, as well as an informal judicial system to resolve disputes between members. In 1926, the association commissioned architects Christian S. Michaelsen and Sigurd A. Rognstad to design a new center that would have a traditional Chinese exterior and an interior that could accommodate modern functions.

The completed building features a façade clad in brightly-colored terra cotta along with traditional Chinese symbols chosen to represent six Confusion virtues. The interior design, however, is distinctly American, drawing inspiration from union halls built during the early-20th century in Chicago.

The $2,500 second prize went to students from Kent State University for their drawings of the Manatac Reservation in Summit, OH. Built in 1931, a dining hall within the reservation, the largest known wormy chestnut structure became an ideal model for future construction within rustic parks. Professor Elizabeth Corbin Murphy, FAIA, instructed her team of students, which comprised Nathan Bonde, Shannon Brown, Catherine Ceralo, Kevin Custer, John Fritsch, Allison Green, Chris Johnson, Lisa Lazar, James Payne, Rachel Pensinger, Rebecca Sidwell, Jason Smith, Katie Starkey, Sara Vandenbark, Carl Veith and Ashly Willis.

The $2,000 third prize was awarded to students working with Matthew Jarosz, AIA, at the Universtiy of Wisconsin-Milwaukee for their project on Boynton Chapel in Baileys Harbor, WI. The students were Alex Chou, Nick Gates, Max Hanisch, Scott Klopfer, Nick Leigeb, Jamie Lese, Brian Majerus, Jessica Mulholland, Andrew Olsen, Tas Oszkay, Eric Sahnow, Steven Shaughnessy, Emily Verch and Nathan Zywicki.

There was a tie for fourth place between the drawings of the Magnolia Cemetery in Charleston, SC, by students from the College of Charleston/Clemson University and drawings of the Spanish Governor’s Palace in San Antonio, TX, by students at the University of Texas at San Antonio.

The former project was led by Ashley Robbins, AIA, and her student team included Meagan Baco, Jeremy Bradham, Laura Burghardt, Genevieve Burr, Jaime Destefano, Natalie Ford, Jessica Golebiowski, Jason Grismore, Manana Isa, Kimberly Jones, Hillary King, Sarah Kollar, Emily Martin, Helen Moore, Bridget O’Brien, Xana Peltola, Matthew Pelz, Julius Richardson, Jeanwha Song and James Zwolak.

The San Antonio team was led by Sue Ann Pemberton, AIA, and was made up of Aida Barkley, Arlene Dominguez, Hadley Dulnig, Christopher Gonzalez, Daniel Lazarine, Lan Li, Keishi Matsunaga, Brandon Melland, Burt Moyer, Holly Nicholson, Christopher Ortiz, Miguel Rodriguez, Jason Sandoval, Adriana Swindle, Kristin Vines, Jacqueline Warner, Josh Yang and Jessica Zunker.

Honorable mention awards were also given to the students at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette for drawings of the Academy of the Sacred Heart Chapel in Grand Coteau, LA, and to students at the University of Cincinnati for drawings of the Boulter House in Cincinnati, OH. Working with Robert McKinney, AIA, the Louisiana team was comprised of Monica Angelette, Hans Breaux, Donald Bergeron, Joseph Carlson, Timmie Dumatrait, Steven Gremillion, Mary Karnath, Ricardo Lasala, Ashley Leblanc, Dustin Rousseau, Andrew Robicheaux, Aaron Schaubhut and Jonathon Williams.

Elizabeth Riorden instructed the Cincinnati team of Gregory Algie, John Arend, Terry Banker, Brian Barker, Catherine Barnes, Michael Benkert, Charlotte Bornhorst, Erin Connelly, Mathieu Crabouillet, Eileen Grippo, Rory Krupp, Kristin Langenberg, Pauline Marie D’Avigneau, Renee Martin, William Marzella, Brayden McLaughlin, Kerri Melis, Andras Nagy, Samantha Payne, Andrew Stafford, Christopher Tomlan, Terri Wilson and Matthew Zyjewski.



Use this tool to search for specific individuals, architectural firms, and
feature topics.
Advertising Information | Privacy Policy

Traditional Building Period Homes Traditional Building Portfolio traditional product galleries traditional product reports
rexbilt Tradweb Traditional Building Conference Palladio Awards

Copyright 2014. Active Interest Media. All Rights Reserved.