Traditional Building Portfolio
LeadPhotoLeadPhoto LeadPhoto LeadPhoto LeadPhoto




2008 ASLA


The 2008 American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) Professional Awards and its 2008 Honors Awards have been announced. They will be presented during ASLA's annual meeting in Philadelphia, PA, to be held October 3-7. The theme is "Green Infrastructure: Linking Landscapes & Communities."

This year's ASLA Medal, the highest honor ASLA gives to a landscape architect, will be awarded to Joe A. Porter, FASLA, of Aspen, CO. He is being recognized for his lifetime achievements and contributions throughout his more than four decades within the profession. Porter is a founding principal of Design Workshop, a landscape architecture firm with more than 200 employees, and this year's Firm Award recipient.

The 2008 Design Medal will be awarded to Kathryn Gustafson, ASLA, of Gustafson Guthrie Nichol Ltd., of Seattle, WA, and of Gustafson Porter in London, England. Focusing on civic, institutional and corporate projects, Gustafson has created award-winning projects for 25 years.

Cited for her sustained and significant contributions to landscape architecture, Linda Jewell, FASLA, of the University of California at Berkeley, is the recipient of the 2008 Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal. She has influenced hundreds of landscape architects during her three decades of teaching. Rodney Swink, FASLA, will be awarded the ASLA LaGasse Medal for his leadership in management and conservancy of natural resources and public lands. Since 1984, he has served as the director of the North Carolina Office of Urban Development and his work has led to more than $700 million of new investment to revitalize Main Street communities across the state.

The Medal of Excellence will be given to the National Association of Olmsted Parks, Washington, DC, and the Olmsted Mead will go to the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center in Austin, TX. Also, the Landscape Architecture Firm Award will be presented to Design Workshop in North Carolina, founded by Don Ensign, FASLA, and Joseph Porter, FASLA. And the Community Service Award will be given to Peter Pollack, FASLA, of Ann Arbor, MI.

For more information on the awards and the annual meeting, go to  



Use this tool to search for specific individuals, architectural firms, and
feature topics.
Advertising Information | Privacy Policy

Traditional Building Period Homes Traditional Building Portfolio traditional product galleries traditional product reports
rexbilt Tradweb Traditional Building Conference Palladio Awards

Copyright 2014. Active Interest Media. All Rights Reserved.