Traditional Building Portfolio




Student Drawing Awards

Kent State takes top honors in the 2007 Charles E. Peterson competition.

By Martha McDonald

For the second year in a row, students from Kent State University took first place in the Charles E. Peterson competition. Presented by the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) of the National Park Service in cooperation with the Athenaeum of Philadelphia and the American Institute of Architects, the student competition is in its 25th year. The first awards were presented in 1983, the 50th anniversary of the founding of the HABS program.

The competition honors Charles E. Peterson, a National Park Service landscape architect who launched the HABS program in 1933. It employs architects, draftsmen and photographers to systematically inventory and document the nation's historic buildings. To date, more than 37,000 structures and sites have been recorded.

The Charles E. Peterson Prize student competition for measured drawings augments the HABS collection. More than 2,000 students from 68 colleges and universities have completed approximately 500 entries, to provide almost 5,000 measured drawings.

Eighteen students from Kent State, working with Elizabeth Corbin Murphy, FAIA, submitted measured drawings of the Wilford and Olive Arms Residence, a 1905 American-style Arts and Crafts home in Youngstown, OH. Designed to contrast with industrial Youngstown, the home features random rubble-style masonry on the exterior. The interior fireplaces, door handles and decorative patterns of wood, iron and glass were also designed to the owner's taste and ideas about the Arts and Crafts style.

Students working on the project included Ross Andrysco, Jeremy Artzner, Brian Boggs, Nicholas Bandac, Scott Clifford, Danelle Durig, Bryan Eaton, Patrick Fox, Lauren Frey, Jessie Hawkins, Daniel Judy, Mindy Kalac, Michael Kessel, Christopher Loeser, Alexander Matsov, Eric Phillips, Michael Sanbury and Nathaniel Winfield.

The group received a cash prize of $2,500 and a certificate. Kent State also took first place in 1996, 2000, 2004 and 2006. Five-time first-prize winner (and also winner of several second-place prizes and honorable mentions) Elizabeth Corbin Mur-phy, FAIA, of Kent State and principal of Chambers, Murphy & Burge Preservation Architects of Akron, OH, says the program is invaluable to the students. "It really changes their attitudes," she says. "They don't all become preservationists, but they get a broader look at the profession. One of the wonderful things about this process is that it helps students understand how a building gets put together. They see that because they crawl all over it."

"It's thrilling for the students," adds Murphy. "At the awards ceremony, they get to shake hands with the Catherine Lavoie [Chief, Historic American Buildings Survey]. You can see that they are excited about it."

Murphy notes that the first time that the winning drawings were done in CAD was in 1996, the first year that Kent State won first prize. "Now they are almost all done in CAD," she says. "Some are hand drawn, because CAD still doesn't do everything to tell the story of what's in your head and in your hand. CAD doesn't think, the talent comes from the students who look at the buildings."

Second place ($2,000) went to Clemson University/College of Charleston for the 1740 Othniel Beale House. Part of the "Rainbow Row" of homes in Charles-ton, SC, it was the first to be rescued from dilapidation in the 1930s.

The project managers were Katie Lawrance, Hillary King and Kimberly Jones. Students working on this project included Jamie DeStefano, Sandi Feaster, Natalie Ford, Jason Grismore, Will Hamilton, Kim Jones, Kate Joseph, Hilary King, Katie Lawrence, Helen Moore, Kim Norton, Xana Peltola, Julius Richardson, Meg Richardson, Caroline Ross and Jamie Zwolak.

Third place ($1,500) in the 2007 competition was awarded to Alan Jones, Chris-topher Ortiz, Juan Rueda and Nimisha Thakur of the University of Texas at San Antonio for drawings of the 1889 Magazine Building, also known as Building 2157, at Fort Sam Houston in San Antonio, TX.

The fourth-place ($1,000) winner was Texas Tech University for drawings of the JA Ranch headquarters in the Texas panhandle. Students participating in this project were Troy Ainsworth, Tammy Cooper, Tahir Demiecioglu, Omar Garcia, Guy Giersch, Matt Jasper, Shana Kelso, Gary Lindsey, Eugenia Magann, Jose Pareja-Diaz, Valerie Sewell, Angela Steffensmeier and Elizabeth Vasquez.

Honorable mention awards were given to the School of the Art Institute of Chi-cago for drawings of the First Congregational Church of Western Springs, IL, and to Louisiana Tech University for drawings of the G.B. Cooley House in Monroe, LA. Tot just architecture and feminism, but also the maturation of our society.  



Use this tool to search for specific individuals, architectural firms, and
feature topics.
Advertising Information | Privacy Policy

Traditional Building Period Homes Traditional Building Portfolio traditional product galleries traditional product reports
rexbilt Tradweb Traditional Building Conference Palladio Awards

Copyright 2014. Active Interest Media. All Rights Reserved.