Traditional Building Portfolio

William B. Callaway of Sausalito, CA, is the recipient of the 2007 ASLA Medal.

Award of Excellence- General Design

Award of Excellence- Residential Design

Award of Excellence for Analysis and Planning

Research Award of Excellence

Communications Award of Excellence

Landmark Award




ASLA Awards


The 2007 American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) Awards honor a broad range of projects around the country as well as a number of distinguished designers and individuals. The highest honor, the ASLA Medal, was first given in 1971. This year, it goes to William B. Callaway, FASLA, of Sausalito, CA, in recognition of his lifetime achievements and contributions to the profession. Currently the CEO of SWA Group, he joined the firm 38 years ago as a draftsman. He worked his way up to president and then CEO. Callaway has worked on many award-winning projects over the years, both nationally and internationally, and he remains a hands-on designer.

This ASLA Medal, along with other awards, will be presented during the ASLA annual meeting in San Francisco in October. Other 2007 awards include the ASLA Design Medal, the Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal, the LaGasse Medals, the Landscape Architect Medal of Excellence, the Olmsted Medal, the Landscape Architecture Firm Award and the Community Service Award. In addition, awards for specific achievements during the past year will be presented in six categories. These include General Design, Residential Design, Analysis and Planning, Research, Communications and the Landmark.

The ASLA Design Medal is given to an individual landscape architect who has produced exceptional design work for a period of at least 10 years. This year it goes to Richard L. Haag, FASLA, of Seattle, WA, who has participated in more than 500 built projects since 1958, primarily in the Pacific Northwest. Terence G. Harkness, FASLA, of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign will receive the Jot T. Carpenter Teaching Medal in recognition of his contributions to landscape-architecture education. The LaGasse Medals are given to two individuals who have contributed to conservancy. Charles A. Birnbaum, FASLA, of Washington, DC, founder and president of The Cultural Landscape Foundation, will receive the award in the Landscape Architect category, and Sarah S. Boasberg, honorary ASLA, founder and president for Green Spaces for DC, will receive the award in the Non-Landscape Architect category.

James R. Urban, FASLA, of Annapolis, MD, is the recipient of the 2007 Landscape Architect Medal of Excellence for his contributions to policy, research, education, planning and design. The Olmsted Award this year recognizes Great Valley Center in Modesto, CA, for environmental leadership.

The highest honor the ASLA bestows on a firm is the ASLA Landscape Architecture Firm Award and this year it goes to Sasaki Associates of Watertown, MA, and San Francisco, CA. The Community Service Award will be presented to Frederick R. Steiner, FASLA, dean of the School of Architecture at the University of Texas in Austin, TX.

Other awards are shown on the left.  



Use this tool to search for specific individuals, architectural firms, and
feature topics.
Advertising Information | Privacy Policy

Traditional Building Period Homes Traditional Building Portfolio traditional product galleries traditional product reports
rexbilt Tradweb Traditional Building Conference Palladio Awards

Copyright 2014. Active Interest Media. All Rights Reserved.