Traditional Building Portfolio

Celebrating the 2006 Driehaus Prize and Henry Hope Reed Award are (left to right): Richard H. Driehaus, founder and chairman of Driehaus Capital Management in Chicago, Allan Greenberg, David Morton and Michael Lykoudis, dean of the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture.

Greenberg has renovated more than 30 spaces within the Department of State in Washington, DC, including the ceremonial Treaty Signing Room.




Driehaus Prize & Reed Award

Honors for Greenberg & Morton

Allan Greenberg and David Morton were awarded prizes for their contributions to Classicism.


The 2006 Richard H. Driehaus Prize was awarded to architect Allan Greenberg in honor of his commitment to progressive ideas that advance traditional architecture. The prize is awarded each year to a major contributor in the field of traditional and Classical architecture. The University of Notre Dame School of Architecture presented the fourth annual prize to Greenberg in a ceremony on March 25 at the University Club of Chicago, IL. Greenberg received $100,000 and a model of the Choregic Monument of Lysikrates, created by Chicago artist Michael Chupich, to honor a career of beautiful, influential and enduring work.

The first American to receive the Driehaus Prize, Greenberg also received an honorary doctoral degree from Notre Dame in 1997 in conjunction with the dedication of the University's Bond Hall of Architecture. His most celebrated works include the Humanities Building at Rice University, for which he won an American Institute of Architects 2001 Design Excellence Award, and the Tommy Hilfiger flagship store in Beverly Hills, which was named the best commercial building of 1998 by the Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute.

Among Greenberg's other notable designs are a Greenwich, CT, farmhouse that won a 1990 Arthur Ross Award from Classical America, and renovations of more than 30 spaces within the Department of State in Washington, DC. George P. Schultz, former Secretary of State, noted that Greenberg enhanced the setting "to embody the noblest ideals of American life," and the interiors, including the main foyer, the offices of The Secretary of State and Deputy Secretary of State and the ceremonial Treaty Signing Room, reflected "the character in which Thomas Jefferson, the first Secretary of State, would feel at home."

Through his teaching, writing and public lectures, Greenberg has furthered both architectural scholarship and practice. He has written several books and many articles on the relationship between the U.S. Constitution and American architecture, as well as on the dynamic and enduring qualities of traditional architecture and design. A monograph of his work was published in 1995 by Academic Press. His book George Washington, Architect was published in 1999 by Andreas Papadakis Publishers, and his most recent work, The Architecture of Democracy: American Architecture and the Legacy of the Revolution, published by Rizzoli International Publications, will be released this year. A television series based on the book is also in progress.

Greenberg's contributions to civic, commercial, educational and residential architecture prompted George Hersey, author and professor of Art History at Yale University, to call him "the most knowing, most serious practitioner of Classicism currently on the scene in this country."

In conjunction with the Driehaus Prize, David Morton received the second annual $25,000 Henry Hope Reed Award for the promotion of Classical art and architecture. As a senior editor at Rizzoli International Publications since 1987, Morton has been responsible for acquiring and developing architecture-related titles. A member of the Institute for Classical Architecture & Classical America, he has overseen titles such as Samuel White's The Houses of McKim Mead & White and Masterpieces of Chicago Architecture by John Zukowsky.

Richard H. Driehaus, the founder and chairman of Driehaus Capital Management in Chicago, endowed both awards through the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture because of its reputation as a national leader in incorporating the principles of traditional and Classical architecture into the task of modern urban development. Previous Driehaus Prize laureates are Léon Krier, Demetri Porphyrios and Quinlan Terry.

The 2006 selection committee included Richard Driehaus; Thomas Beeby, principal at Hammond Beeby Rupert Ainge, Chicago, IL, and former dean of the Yale School of Architecture; Elizabeth M. Dowling, author and professor at Georgia Tech's College of Architecture; Anne Fairfax, principal at Fairfax and Sammons, New York, NY; Paul Goldberger, dean of the Parsons School of Design and architecture critic for The New Yorker; Léon Krier, architect, urbanist and inaugural recipient of the Richard H. Driehaus Prize; and Michael Lykoudis, dean of the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture.  



Use this tool to search for specific individuals, architectural firms, and
feature topics.
Advertising Information | Privacy Policy

Traditional Building Period Homes Traditional Building Portfolio traditional product galleries traditional product reports
rexbilt Tradweb Traditional Building Conference Palladio Awards

Copyright 2014. Active Interest Media. All Rights Reserved.