Traditional Building Portfolio

2006 Arthur Ross Awards


The Arthur Ross Awards were established in 1982 by Classical America President Henry Hope Reed and Board Chairman Arthur Ross to celebrate excellence in the Classical tradition. The awards are comprised of 11 categories: architecture, artisanship, community design, education, history and publishing, landscape design, mural painting, patronage, rendering, sculpture and stewardship, with a maximum of five being awarded each year.

The selection committee that chooses recipients of the awards is made up of members of the Institute of Classical Architecture & Classical America's board of directors, advisory council, fellows and distinguished members of related professions. Nominations are submitted throughout the year.

The 2006 winners were selected from more than 150 nominations submitted to a jury chaired by Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk, dean of the School of Architecture at the University of Miami and founding principal of Duany Plater-Zyberk & Company. The jury included painter and educator Jacob Collins; educator and designer Christine G.H. Franck; interior designer and journalist Alexa Hampton; architect and builder William H. Harrison; Susan Henshaw Jones, president of the Museum of the City of New York and former head of the National Building Museum; author, journalist and Traditional Building editor-at-large Clem Labine; scholar Henry Hope Reed; and architect Gil Schafer III, who serves as chairman of the ICA&CA's board of directors. The jury coordinator was architect and Institute Fellow Phillip Dodd.

"This year's awards recognize five outstanding individuals and organizations whose work has contributed to public appreciation and engagement with the Classical tradition in painting, architecture, community design, history and stewardship. In this auspicious 25th anniversary year of the Arthur Ross Awards the jury chose to emphasize achievements that have had broad public influence by their scale, location, or dissemination," Plater-Zyberk says. This year, the award for architecture went to Hartman-Cox Architects, Washington, DC; The Mississippi Renewal Forum, Biloxi, MS, won for community design; William R. Mitchell, Jr., Atlanta, GA, won for history/writing/ publishing; Leonard Porter, New York, NY, won for mural painting/painting; and The Central Park Conservancy, New York, NY, won for stewardship.


Architecture: Hartman-Cox Architects, Washington, DC
The Architecture award this year recognizes Hartman-Cox Architects for its broad range of work with historical tradition — from the preservation of Classical icons to the conception and construction of new institutional buildings. The firm's willingness and ability to engage the full history of design has long empowered it to bring traditional design to contemporary buildings of civic scale and use.


Mural Painting/Painting: Leonard Porter, New York, NY
This award recognizes Leonard Porter's incomparable conceptual rigor and skill in the creation of paintings and murals. The thoughtfulness and beauty of his work brings sophistication and dignity to representational painting that embellishes the public realm as well as private spaces.


Community Design: The Mississippi Renewal Forum, Biloxi, MS
This award recognizes the Mississippi Renewal Forum, a remarkable collaboration of more than 100 architects, planners, engineers, environmentalists and civic leaders producing a plan for rebuilding the Mississippi coast after its destruction by Hurricane Katrina. Eleven city plans, as well as suggestions for regional infrastructure, and a pattern book to guide the design and construction of individual buildings were produced and published within weeks of the storm and continue to guide the interaction of state and national architects with the communities most in need.

Stewardship: The Central Park Conservancy, New York, NY
The Central Park Conservancy is recognized this year in its 25th anniversary as a not-for-profit organization with the Stewardship/Good Manners award for its ongoing work preserving, protecting and maintaining an icon of the American public realm, New York City's Central Park. The conservancy provides a majority of the park's annual operating funds and sets a standard of quality control, ensuring its continuation as a national model for cultural and environmental stewardship.


History/Writing/Publishing: William R. Mitchell, Jr., Atlanta, GA
The award for history/writing/publishing celebrates the long and illustrious career of William R. Mitchell, Jr., historian. His numerous publications documenting the historical architecture of several southern states has served as an indisputable foundation for the preservation successes of communities throughout the South, including his native city of Atlanta, where his Southern Architecture Foundation has its headquarters. Mitchell's work underlines the importance of recovering and documenting knowledge that can serve as a bulwark for preservation efforts in the political arena.



Use this tool to search for specific individuals, architectural firms, and
feature topics.
Advertising Information | Privacy Policy

Traditional Building Period Homes Traditional Building Portfolio traditional product galleries traditional product reports
rexbilt Tradweb Traditional Building Conference Palladio Awards

Copyright 2014. Active Interest Media. All Rights Reserved.